Free Travel and Konus
Free of charge travelling with public transport and free or reduced access to various attractions in the region:
- Public pools in Oberprechtal, Elzach, Gutach and Simonswald
- Black Forest Zoo in Waldkirch
- leisure facilityin Oberwinden with minigolf and “Kneipp Basin”
- Elztal museum in Waldkirch
- Village- and Clockmuseum in Gütenbach
- Oilmill Simonswald
- Village museum “Jockenhof” in Simonswald
- Cascades in Triberg
In the open-air exhibition “Schwarzwälder Freilichtmuseum Vogtsbauernhof” in Gutach, you have the chance to experience 400 years of Black Forest history. Several different shows about old and traditional crafts and special exhibitions can be visited.
Klosterkirche St. Märgen
The parish and pilgrim church “Klosterkirche St. Märgen” was built from 1716 to 1718. The following years were the glory times of the church, until it came to an abrupt end in the process of the secularization in 1827. The church buildings were separated and partly transferred into private flats. The older part of the “Prälatenhaus” became the presbytery, the newer part was the home of the major and the tourist information for a long time. Today it is home to the church museum St. Märgen and is still a perishing place of pilgrimage – the first one in the archdiocese.
Today, the Freiburg Minster is both the parish church of the cathedral parish and also the cathedral of the archdiocese of Freiburg. In addition, the cathedral is a national cultural monument with the “most beautiful tower on earth” and is one of the few Gothic large-church buildings that were completed in the middle ages. It survived several wars almost undamaged. 30 kilometres from Elzach.